Death

death_gaiman1

 

 

“When the first living thing existed, I was there, waiting. When the last living thing dies, my job is finished.

I’ll put the chairs on tables, turn out the lights and lock the universe behind me when I leave.”

 

 

“Anyway: I’m not blessed or merciful. I’m just me. I’ve got a job to do and I do it.

Listen: even as we’re talking, I’m there for old and young, innocent and guilty, those who die together and those who die alone.

I’m in cars and boats and planes, in hospitals and forests and abattoirs.

For some folks death is a release and for others death is an abomination, a terrible thing.

But in the end, I’m there for all of them.”

 

 

 – Death – Facade, The Sandman #20

 

Leave a Reply

